Plans

snow Paths pic

I am back from vacation and ready to blog again. Last month I volunteered to help my daughter Shanna and my son-in-law David move to Virginia. I also agreed to stay with Shanna for a few weeks while David went to job training in another state. Before leaving, I made a lot of vacation plans. The majority did not materialize. But how often are God’s plans similar to mine?  Whenever I think I am setting my sites high, His ways are always higher.

After an eventful road trip, about which I will blog later, we arrived, unloaded the moving truck, and began to unpack. Shanna and I dropped David off at the airport a few days later. On the way back to the house, we discussed the things we would do and places we would go. Then, came the snow…and more snow…and still more snow–up to eight inches in a single night. Roads were icy and schools closed.

Now, you Northerners might think, “What’s the big deal? It’s just snow! But for those of us who are used to driving in deserts or near beaches, the beautiful blanket covering the roads looks more like white death.

And it was C-O-L-D!!!!! After a short excursion in single digit weather, Shanna and I decided that hibernation was much more appealing than sight-seeing or shopping. Isn’t it funny how uncomfortable circumstances can quickly change our heart’s desires?

Although, my trip didn’t turn out the way I had planned, (only once did we venture more than a couple miles from the house,) I believe it was according to God’s plan. Shanna and I had some wonderful mother-daughter bonding time, and I was also able to complete some personal goals. Not to mention the new friends with which I have been blessed.

And I did do some sightseeing, but it wasn’t around the area, it was in the area of my heart, as the Lord gave me a lot of insight and direction. He also brought together some divine appointments. I am still processing all of it.

While I was away, I learned so much and grew so much I couldn’t possibly write about it all in a single blog.  So over the next few weeks (or months) I will share a little at a time.

Although my plans didn’t succeed, God’s did. I had the best vacation I have ever had! I have been both blessed and refreshed and now, I am ready to walk into my next season!
Thank you, Lord, for changing my plans…and my heart!

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6.)

Have a blessed day!

Jeannie Diane

5 thoughts on “Plans

  1. This is so inspiring! It is so true that when we let the Lord take over and let his plan unfold then it goes even better than we can imagine! I am living in Massachusetts right now but i am usually from the western states and it was insane this past month I don’t know how you guys survived! Where are you originally from?

  2. So true, Mallory! I grew up on the Texas coast, lived in AZ many years. I moved back to Texas a couple of years ago to take care of sick family members. The weather has been crazy in the Northeast. Be careful and build a few snowmen for me. The one I made was pathetic 🙂 God Bless!

  3. haha thank you! I will build a lot for you because there is still plenty of snow, we beat the record for ever with 108.6 inches!!! Hope your daughter is loving it and if you want to look me up on facebook my name is mallory moss from layton utah, i would love to hear from you more!

    • Wow! Mallory, that is a whole lot of snow! You could probably build a snow city! I wouldn’t exactly say that my daughter is loving it. Sometimes it takes time to adjust to new surroundings. I will look you up on facebook today. 🙂 God Bless!

Leave a Reply

