Winds of Change

The other night the Lord put a word on my heart concerning 2013.  As I began to pray, I was reminded of the movie The Secret Garden. When a young British girl Mary is orphaned in India she is brought back to England to reside in the home of her uncle.  After learning that there is a locked up garden on the property, she becomes determined to find the entrance and gain access.  One day, while Mary is sitting on a bench, a gust of wind blows away some leaves to reveal a key. As she picks it up she rationalizes: “If there is a key, there has to be a door.” The wind then kicks up again and blows back vines on a wall to reveal a door.

God put it on my heart that I, as well as many others, are heading into a season marked by Winds of Change

These Winds of Change will not only blow away chaff in our lives, but reveal keys that will open locked doors: “I will place on his shoulder the key to the house of David; what he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open” (Isaiah 22:22.)

As couple of years ago while participating in an all night prayer meeting, the Lord told me to lie down in front of a certain door. There, prostrated on the floor, He began to show me doors swinging open as He gave me visions concerning my destiny. He spoke to my heart: “I am going to open doors that no man can shut.  No man can shut them.  But you can shut them— through disobedience.  You must do what I tell you to do.” Besides worship, in 2013, obedience will be a key factor in opening the doors concerning your destiny.

In 1999, I was going through a tremendous physical trial which confined me to bed, “my recliner.” For the first month, I was awake and alert for only short periods of time. (My children still tell me about all the things they got away with before my sister-in-law came to care for the family.) Since I felt useless as well as helpless, I didn’t see any need in me living, especially since each breath took so much effort. One afternoon, I saw a vision of God’s hand reaching out to me. The Lord then spoke to my heart: “I know the length and breath of this trial, and I know exactly what I am going to bring out of it.”  The length ended up being three months, and it would take me days to write all He brought out of it—including understanding about my “true value’ and a miraculous healing from emphysema. 

Since winds of change bring opposition as well as opportunity, it is important for us to understand that although God determines the “Thus far and no farther” concerning our trials, our choices determine the “thus far and no farther” concerning what we allow Him to do in us and through us as He takes us into New Things.  It’s so easy to “surrender all” before the fiery trials, but in the midst of suffering we often want to control both the thermostat and the water hose.  

I also believe as God takes us into New Things He will resurrect some promises and vision.  When Mary enters the secret garden she discovers that it has suffered from years of neglect. Although the roses appear dead, the breaking of a rose stem reveals that life is still present. The garden must be “tended to” in order to restore the beauty that it once possessed.

Some of us have been through seasons where the very things God has placed in our hearts have seemed to die. Whether our giftings or callings have been laid to rest due to disobedience or disappointments, or just because of redirection…it’s time to tend the garden’s of our souls and let God water and prune, and even do some replanting in order to bring forth His beauty, and accomplish His purposes.

Yes, the winds of change are coming.  May we examine our hearts and surrender our lives as they uncover hidden keys, open locked doors, resurrect our callings and take us into the “New” God has gone before and prepared for us.

 

                     Have an incredible, life changing, dream resurrecting, New Year!!!

 

                                                                        Jeannie Boatright

 

 Image

2 thoughts on “Winds of Change

  1. I have been thinking about new seasons of life and how God moves us toward them and through them. Winds of Change is a wonderful way to describe it. A verse I’ve been contemplating is John 13:7. Jesus is washing the disciples feet and preparing them for change. He said, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.”

Leave a Reply

