Storm Warning

I was on the porch with my grandkids and a neighbor boy yesterday enjoying the pitter patter of rain when a strong gust of wind blew the outdoor trash containers over and sent us scurrying into the house. Within seconds, it began to downpour and the power went out. After staring at the wall of black clouds through the window I checked to make sure the storage area under the stairs was clear in case of imminent danger, and then tried to quiet the screaming toddlers.

In the midst of the ruckus my daughter called confirming we were under a tornado warning.  As I attempted to detach the terrified trio from my appendages,I informed her of my plans in case the need arose. When the call was over I focused on calming the children by singing songs, reading books and talking about how “cool” the rain and clouds were.  Although the storm outside continued to rage for a while longer, the storm inside quieted, and after the wind and rain let up a bit, I took the kids back out on the porch, where to my astonishment, they began dancing.

Thirteen years ago I was in the midst of another storm; the storm of divorce. One night in order to escape the chaos, I checked into a hotel. As the winds of change blew and the rains of failure and rejection pummeled me, I turned on the Christian radio station and  climbed into the tub.  Although my raging storm would continue for a long time, that night, the words to a particular song calmed my raging heart, and when my storm was finally over, I too, was able to dance.

Sometimes the storms in our lives are preceded by warnings, but often they are not.  Whether it’s the doctor’s diagnosis, a financial crisis, the betrayal of a spouse or friend, a traumatic experience, or the late night phone call you wish you never received, if you are currently in the midst of a storm know that God loves you and He is there for you.

I pray the words to this song by Scott Kerpain would bring you comfort and peace as they did me many years ago. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3BMIJHZSavo

                                                                              God Bless,

                                                                              Jeannie

 Image

One thought on “Storm Warning

  1. Wow Diane, I have never heard that song and it was just what I needed to hear today. I am definitely in the middle of a storm and I just need to allow the Lord to hold me and carry me through instead of fighting it all the way. Im so blessed by what you share and the personal applications you tie to them. I just get so frustrated and forget He is right here if I would just allow myself to be still and listen and know Hes carrying me through it all I would be more at peace.
    Tania

Leave a Reply

