Take Flight

Since I only had a few hours of sleep before arriving at the airport to return to Maryland, I thought I could dose off in the terminal for little while. However, my plans were soon interrupted by the commotion from the next section of seats. As my heart went out to the young women who was convulsively sobbing, I gathered my belongs, walked over and sat down next to her. “Sweetie, what’s wrong? Are you crying because you are missing your family?”

“No, I’m crying because I’m scared! I have never flown before!” she wailed.” Between sobs and sniffles I discovered her name was Tiffany, she was 18, and she had recently graduated. Her tears lessened as we began to talk about her plans for college, and before I boarded, I offered to save her a seat and pray with her before the flight took off.  She sniffled some more, blew her nose and smiled. “Thank you!  That would be really great!’

Although, she was still crying fifteen minutes later when she plopped down in the window seat beside me, she was thankful she was not alone.  I assured her the Lord knew what she needed, and during a lull of her repeating, “I’m so scared!” I prayed that not only would the Lord calm her fears, but also that she would embrace her first flight experience as an adventure.

As we rose in altitude I pointed to the clouds and reminded her to enjoy the journey. After that I became so engaged in conversation with the lady on the other side of me, I didn’t even notice when Tiffany stopped sniffling. However, every time I  glanced over she seemed absorbed with the view.  I even saw her taking a few photos. A couple of times when I inquired if she was OK, she responding with enthusiastic nods. 

After we landed I asked her what she thought. She smiled and eagerly answered, “I had never flown before!  I loved it! I didn’t know it was like this!”

There have been times in my life, when the fear of the unknown has not only reduced me to tears, but paralyzed me. I wanted to stay in the safety of the familiar when God wanted me to take flight and trust Him as He piloted me unto the next season. But just like Tiffany, when I faced my fears and embraced the adventure, I was able to look back and say, “I loved it!  I didn’t know it was like this!”

How about you?  Is God challenging you to leave the ground of complacency and take off into the unknown?  If so, I pray your fears would be calmed, and you would embrace the adventure that awaits you during your flight! Who knows, you might even have some great snapshots (testimonies) to share when you arrive at your next destination. 

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. Psalm 56:3 (NIV)”

“Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9 (NIV)”

Have a blessed Day!

4 thoughts on “Take Flight

  1. I love the way the Lord moves in airports and on planes. What a happy ending to this story and what a great challenge to take when the opportunity to trust Him rises upon us. Praying for your mom!

  2. Thank you for sharing this Diane. I feel like Im right there wondering what that next adventure is going to be and yes I have been scared not knowing if Im strong enough to even trust the Lord to carry me through it.

Leave a Reply

