Are You Ready?

Are You Ready?

“Are you ready for Christmas?”
Her words caught me off guard
Since I hadn’t baked a cookie
Or penned a single card.

No presents had been wrapped
And laid beneath my tree.
No stockings had been hung
To be filled with toys and treats.

“Are you ready for Christmas?”
Did she mean Christmas Day?”
I hadn’t even thought that far
So what was I to say?

My kids now live in other sates
And won’t be coming home.
So how was I to tell her,
“No I’m not. I’m all alone.”

“Are you ready for Christmas?”
The words pierced like a dart.
So as I sat there waiting.
I cried, “Lord, where is my heart?”

It was then I saw a stable
And the cross of Calvary.
And a body that was broken
And the blood that set me free.

“Are you ready for Christmas?”
I felt the answer rise
As I lifted both my head and heart
And looked into her eyes.

Am I ready for Christmas?
Well, let me tell you, Mam.
If you mean it’s true meaning,
Then yes-Oh yes, I am!

Are you ready for Christmas?
Christ has loved you from the start.
If you haven’t let Him in
It’s time to open up your heart.

For the Savior long ago
Who upon the straw did lay
Is standing now before you
To wash your sins away.

Are you ready for Christmas?
and I don’t mean wreaths and trees.
But the present of His Presence
That has come to set you free!

May you have a beautiful, blessed CHRISTmas!

Jeannie Boatright

2 thoughts on “Are You Ready?

Leave a Reply

