God’s Economy…Part II

If there is one thing I have learned about God’s economy it’s that although it makes “perfect sense” …to God, it often makes little sense to me…except … sometimes in hind-site. Therefore, since my little finite mind has difficultly understanding the greatness of my God when I am calculating a situation, I often begin not only to question my ability to hear Him, but, at times, I am even tempted to doubt my sanity.

An example of this would be the second job that I am now working. Let me back track a little bit to bring some clarity.  

A few months ago the Lord impressed upon my spirit that I was to go that afternoon to a certain building in town and fill out an application.  And, although, at first, I was apprehensive, after calling a few friends for prayer, I became excited at the prospect of not only a new opportunity, but the possibility of a full-time position with medical benefits.  Certainly, this is God’s answer to how I am going to pay my bills when my child support ends. 

Later that afternoon, when I entered the specified facility and saw an empty desk in front of me, I was certain, that at some point, I would be its occupant. So I nonchalantly walked over and stood behind it in an attempt to gain some insight as to what my future employment might involve. That is when I heard in my spirit I need you here.

So with visions of financial security and possible ministry running through my head, I approached a young woman and asked her who worked at the desk.  Her unexpected answer made me laugh…and not a HA HA kind of bubbly laughter either…it was more like the kind of laughter that Sarah exhibited in Genesis 18:12 when she was informed by the angel that she was going to give birth to a son in her old age.

Well, to make a long story short, after orientation, a blood test, mandatory shots, and the juggling of the company’s schedules, I am now working my volunteer desk position once a week. And I have to say that I have been tremendously blessed, for not only has my desk become a prayer altar, but my life has also been touched by the amazing people around me.

As I am writing this, I am reminded of a testimony a missionary shared with our congregation quite a few years ago.  When God told him to buy a swamp, not only was he ridiculed by the populace but even his church members had a difficult time believing him.  Little did any of them know, that a few months later that swamp would be drained as the result of a building project up the road and would become a multimillion dollar property.  Yes, God’s economy…give when you don’t have it…work for free..buy a swamp.  No, it might not always make sense…but with God in the equation… it always makes a difference!

Let me clarify here, I belive that God’s economy has more to do with hearts and purposes than it does finances. When He calls us to give or do; He is really calling us to trust and love Him as he gives us opportunity to allow Him to pour His love through us to others.

Lord, thank you for reminding me in Isaiah 55:8-9 that your thoughts and ways are much different and higher than mine.  When I think security and comfort; you are thinking love and destiny. Lord, You are truly amazing!

Leave a Reply

