The Adventure of All

Well, it’s a good thing I have become re-acquainted with God’s faithfulness in the past because soon I will be heading into another season of “holding onto the promises”.  For not only have my hours been cut at work because of the economy, but since my youngest son has graduated, I no longer have child support.  These recent developments now leave me with two choices. Either I can embrace this season and view it as a grand adventure in which I have the privilege of seeing the Lord once again do the impossible, or I can freak out.  Or can do some of both, which is my normal method of operation.

You would think with past testimonies to encourage me, and present assurances (for just recently, as I was walking to work one morning, the Lord promised me that I wasn’t going to miss a beat as far as my bills were concerned), that I would have no problem with trust. But unfortunately, at times, I still fall into “Thomas Mode” and begin to doubt what I can’t see or feel. 

That is when I once again find myself in the book of Matthew.  Matthew  6:25-34 to be exact.  I refer to it as the “Do not worry passage”, and although I can’t relate to sparrow feed (I’ve never been too found of worms) or garments made of petals I can take heart in knowing that as I “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness.”..ALL things will be added unto me.

And that ALL includes not only my earthly necessities , but also spiritual nourishment of wisdom and understanding and the beautiful arraignment of His glory and His love.

Matthew 6:25-34 “Therefore I say to you do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on.  Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns: yet your heavenly Father feeds them.  Are you not of more value than they?  Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?  So why do you worry about clothing?  Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all of His glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more  clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not worry saying ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?  For after these things the Gentiles seek.  For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will  worry about its own things.  Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”(NKJ)

Lord, thank you for your faithfulness.  Help me to be faithful (full of faith) as I am learning to trust you in ALL things.

P.S.  Although I am publishing this blog today, I actually wrote it a few days ago…So I wanted to add this quick testimony.  Today, I felt impressed of the Lord to buy a Bible for a friend, and since I had a little “down time” at work I got on line and began looking. About 15 minutes later a wonderful Christian woman I know walked into my work and handed me an envelope from the Lord.  In it was already 1/2 of the money I needed to buy the Bible.  The Lord never ceases to amaze me as He provides for it ALL…Let the adventure continue!

Have a  Blessed Day!

One thought on “The Adventure of All

Leave a Reply

