Not So Empty

 Monday afternoon I received a call from my youngest daughter “Mom, I’m sending you an unusual present for your Birthday! It’s something I found on the ground, but I think you will like it. Please call me when it arrives. ” Four days later I opened a small box containing a beautiful handmade card resting on top of a genuine, straight out of the yard, droppings and all, empty bird’s nest.

Now, when you get a bird’s nest for your Birthday you just know there has to be a message in there somewhere, but I couldn’t imagine what it could be…until I read the card.

And Oh! What a message it was!

Have you ever received a gift that you knew wasn’t only for you?  That is how I felt about the last sentences of my daughter’s beautiful, inspiring words. So it is with her permission that I share the following:

Now, about the bird’s nest…

The wind knocked it out of a tree, and I found it in our yard.  It spoke to me  first, of how when Dad left ,your nest was knocked to the ground.  And second, how God picked it back up again when you thought it was impossible.  And even though it may now be empty, it doesn’t mean that you have nothing left to offer the world.  but God has chosen this time for you to fill it with dreams, hope, joy, beauty, love, inspiration…things of God

Tears filled my eyes and joy flooded my heart as I remembered that just last week I was thinking of posting on my facebook status ,”The thing about an empty nest is sometimes it feels so…empty.”

But now, with the message of my unusual present, I realize that my nest is not as empty as I thought . And although my child rearing days have come to a close, my life has just begun.

Jeremiah 29:11  For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”(NKJ)

Lord, may the message of the bird’s nest give us hope and minister to our hearts as we realize that you are the God of New Beginnings.  Fill the empty places and empty seasons in our lives with your presence, your joy, your passion, your purposes, and your vision. 

                                  In Jesus’ name… Amen!

2 thoughts on “Not So Empty

  1. Who would have thunk it when this daughter was in the depths of teenage despair, that such beauty and wisdom would flow from her lips and such appreciation of her devoted mother. And so soon! Neither one of you has a gray hair yet. Congratulations! You poured yourself out for her and now comes beautiful fruit!
    rr

Leave a Reply

