Oh My!

I just realized that I have 23 drafts.  I”ll try to finish one of them and post something soon.  Actually, I gathered up my old journals, or “letters to God”, through the years, and am in the process of transferring them from their current formats: spirals, books, scraps of paper, napkins, the back of a cereal box etc. onto my laptop.

Although, my initial motivation was to clean up some clutter in my life and make an honest attempt at becoming more organized, I have been so blessed as I have received from these  “Stones of Remembrance” that I am now typing with a new goal in mind.

 When the Israelites crossed the Jordan into Canaan they were instructed to set up twelve stones representing the twelve tribes of Israel as a memorial to their children. Not only were the stones taken from the very place of a miracle (for the waters plied up and the Israelites were given safe passage on dry land), but they testified of the faithfulness and might of God. “”In the future, when your children ask you,’ What do these stones mean? ‘ tell them the flow of the Jordan was cut off before the ark of the covenant of the Lord.  When it crossed the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off.  These stones are to be a memorial forever.” Joshua 4:6

Yes, a memorial.  As we record the words of God’s faithfulness in our lives may they be a memorial; not only to us, but to the generations that follow. 

Lord, thank you for your faithfulness.  Thank you for meeting me in the midst of the flood waters of doubt, fear, unforgivness, pride and lack in my life and taking me across to a land of your promises and provision.  You are so incredible and so very faithful!  May I never forget what you have done, and may I pass the messages spoken by the stones of remembrances onto others.

In the name of Jesus,

                       Amen

2 thoughts on “Oh My!

  1. Good thought!!!!! Guess we’re going to take a rock from here
    to make an altar in Israel somewhere. It’s a better thing to not have
    to use rocks-so many other items to use now.
    But imperative we remember!!

Leave a Reply

