When Feelings Don’t Matter

Have you ever felt unworthy?  I have… and sometimes still do.  This morning  I woke up thinking I’m such a mess.  What can I possibly do for God?  But instead of pushing me away as I beat myself up while thinking of ways to clean up my act, Father God just drew me close and reminded me that whether I felt worthy or not, did not make me more or less lovable or able to be used by Him.  For my worthiness did not lie in my own abilities but in the shed blood of Jesus.

As I continued to pray, in my mind, I saw a little caterpillar as I heard the phrase of a familiar old hymn “For such a worm as I”. And I thought to myself I am that worm. God could just squish me. But instead of seeing an all powerful foot ready to stomp, I saw all powerful hands reach down and scoop up the little insect and cup it as if in a chrysalis then open back up to release it as a beautiful butterfly. 

When grieving, the Lord reaches down and says, ‘I grieve with you.”

When rejected, He says, “I know rejection,” and draws me close.

When rejoicing; He joins in.

But when I feel unworthy, He says,”It doesn’t matter how you feel, for you are worthy, my child, just because of my love.”

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

