When Love Takes a Name

I was feeling pretty loving until I attended a funeral this afternoon.  The service celebrated the life of an incredible woman who loved the Lord with all of her heart and loved others unconditionally. As I listened to the family members share about the rich heritage they received from their heaven residing mother/grandmother I thought to myself what would my family say at my funeral?  For not only was this woman a pastor’s wife and godly mother, but her and her husband also fostered thirty-two children.  Thirty-two!?  I can’t imagine fostering thirty-two children. There were days I wanted to airmail my precious four to another continent (Love you Kids).

Anyway, the real clincher came when the pastor, in emphasizing Esther’s love for others, substituted Esther’s name in the reading of I Corinthians 13:4-7. Every time he read Esther, I heard my name, but my version was far from precious Esther’s.  It went something like this:

Jeannie is fairly patient, and reasonably kind.

Jeannie does not envy except when she sees someone else receive what she has prayed for for years? Then Jeannie has to proclaim God’s promises and practice thankfulness so she doesn’t have a pity party.

Jeannie does not boast, Jeannie is not proud, or does not alway appear so outwardly, while inwardly she might be fighting a battle of astronomical proportions because she can easily fall back into receiving her value through what others think about her.

Jeannie is not  rude-except when she is under pressure or PMS(ing).

Jeannie is not self-seeking unless she drops a pancake on the floor before serving breakfast, or is asked to give her best dress to a friend, or her most prized possession to her enemy, or….?

Jeannie is not easily angered or Jeannie keeps no records of wrongs except for the mental filing cabinets crammed full of unwritten ledgers concerning the ex (still working on destroying those).

Jeannie does not delight in evil, but rejoices with the truth-Let it be so Lord!

The more she gets free from her enabling ways, Jeannie protects.

Jeannie is learning to trust more all of the time.

Jeannie is putting her hope in Christ.

Jeannie knows the perseverance thing “I can do all things through Christ!!!!”

Although Love never fails, Jeannie often will, so she needs to daily abide in the arms of Jesus her Savior and remember that His name is love and ONLY HE  is enough! 

I Corinthians 13:4-7 “Love is  patient, love is kind.  It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, It is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

I thank you, Jesus, that you are love.  Continue to grow me and help me to love others as you do.

One thought on “When Love Takes a Name

Leave a Reply

