Heaven

As a little girl, I used to find refuge in the big tallow tree in my back yard, where depending on the circumstances, I would either fantasize about being swept away by my future knight in shining armor, or I would seriously contemplate life, God and …heaven.  Yes….heaven.

In my childish understanding, since heaven was nothing more than a pearly gated community of puffy clouds occupied by little winged cherubs with lopsided halos playing harps, I remember fearing spending eternity in boredom.  And although spending eternity in hell did not intrigue me in the least, in my childish mind since being bored was the next thing to it, I was kind of hoping that there might be another alternative. That is until I caught my first breath-taking view of the purple mountains’ majesty.

Leaning forward in my seat, and peering through the car windshield, my heart had leapt as I took in the magnificent scenery before me.  And during the following weeks as I camped with my family amidst towering pines and clear rippling creeks, I felt closer to God than I ever had before . For in being surrounded by the beauty of creation, I couldn’t help but think, “Wow! If places on earth can be so magnificent, I can’t imagine how glorious heaven will be.”

I heard it once said that “When you know Christ, Earth will be the worst heaven and the best hell that you will ever experience. ” That is why when I see a beautiful sunset or a the grandeur of snow-capped mountains, I think of heaven as being immeasurably more beautiful. I think of flowers that never die, snow that doesn’t feel cold, and a never-ending panorama of beauty to behold.  I think of joy that never fades, loved ones who never part, and being free from pain and fear.  I think of light that never fades because its source is the glory of God, and I think of being with my sweet Jesus forever.

I Corinthians 2:9-” Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”

Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

