Grace to See me Through

Last year, when a large cataract was removed from my mother’s eye, her surgeon commented, ” with the thickness and mass of the cataract, it’s amazing that you were able to see at all.”  When my mother responded that it was because she had been seeing by the glory of God, he concurred.

 What she called glory; I call grace.

 Looking back in my life I can see how God’s grace has not only provided me with sight  in the midst of my blindness, but has often been the very vision to see me through.

God’s grace saw me through when I was blinded from knowing my value.

God’s grace saw me through when I was blinded to His love.

God’s grace saw me through when I was blinded by my pride.

God’s grace saw me through when I was blinded to the truth.

When I was blinded by lies, He was my eyes.

When I couldn’t see; He watched. When I lagged behind; He ran before.  When I stumbled; He picked me up and carried me…always taking me forward through His glory… His unmerited favor…His grace. 

 As I was writing this tonight, the title of an old hymn came to mind “Be Thou My Vision” I see those words as a prayer in themselves…And a powerful prayer at that.  Yes, Lord.  Be my vision!

 Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

