You’re Just Not Getting It

When my four-year old son replied,” I like Smurfs so I wanted Bennie to be a Smurf.” , when I asked him why he spray- painted his cousin blue… I thought …”Child, you’re just not getting it.”

When my three-year old son answered, “ I wanted a brown, white and black dog instead of just a brown and white dog.” when I asked him why he put roofing tar on our Welsh springer spaniel.. I thought …”Child, you’re just not getting it.”

When my three-year old daughter stated, “Why do ‘YOU’get to break everything?” when I informed her that if I wanted things broken, I would break them myself.  I thought  …”Child, you’re just not getting it.”

When my toddler begged me to let her go the bathroom by herself, and I found her bathing in the toilet bowl with her dolly, I turned aside trying not to let her see me laugh as I thought …”Child, you’re  just not getting it …and I wish I had video camera!”

You see, although my little darlings were doing what was right in their own eyes, I knew better. For it is not good to spray paint cousins, tar dogs, break things, and bathe in toilets.

Hmmm….makes me wonder how many times when I am doing what seems right in my own eyes, my loving, omniscient, Heavenly Father, who definitely knows better is thinking “Child, you’re just not getting it.”

Proverbs 13:15  ”The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but he who heeds counsel is wise . .” (NKJV)

Proverbs 3:7  “Do not be wise is your own eyes; fear the Lord and depart from evil.” (NKJV)

Deuteronomy 6:18-“And ye shall do what is right and good in the sight of the Lord, that it may be well with you, and that you may go in and possess the good land of which the Lord swore to you and your fathers.”(NKJV)

Lord, I am so thankful that you love me, (even when I am just not getting it)and that You know what is best for me. Help me to trust you and give me wisdom so can do what is right in Your eyes.

One thought on “You’re Just Not Getting It

  1. I love the vivid work pictures — my you have inventive children!
    Yes, that stinkin’, in-the-rut thinking can really betray me. Break it off, O God!

    Great blog!

Leave a Reply

