The Exchange

While standing at the airport currency counter, my team leader spoke up, “Don’t exchange your money here, I know someone who will do it for free.”  So I slipped my money into my purse and stepped out of line.

While sitting in a crowded auditorium an evangelist spoke up, “You can’t change your broken life, but there is someone who can do it for free.”  So I slipped out of my seat and stepped into line.

Free- It’s one of my favorite words

It’s how I got my entertainment center (one man’s trash is another’s treasure).

It’s how I got back my life.

My US currency couldn’t purchase me anything in a foreign country, and my good works couldn’t purchase me anything eternal.

In both cases there had to be an exchange: worthless paper for valuable bills; ashes for beauty.

Throughout the scriptures we see Jesus exchanging the worthless for the priceless.

When the woman with the issue of blood reached out and touched the hem of Jesus’ garment… there was an exchange as she received healing for sickness. (Mark 5:25-34)

When the woman caught in adultery was spared by Jesus’ words fingered in the sand… there was an exchange when she received acceptance for shame. (John 8:3-11)

When the man stood in amazement as clay was plastered on his useless eyes… there was an exchange as he received sight for blindness. (John 9:1-11)

When the demoniac watched a pack of possessed pigs dive to their deaths after Jesus cast out his demons…there was an exchange as he received peace for torment. (Luke 8:27-36)

When the grieving mother was presented with her very much alive son after Jesus told him to arise…there was an exchange as she received joy for  sorrow.(Luke 7:11-15)

As we bring our sin, fear, brokenness, despair, and heartache before our precious Savior…there is an exchange as we receive salvation, faith, wholeness, hope, and joy…and He does it all for free.

May you rejoice in all that the Lord has done and will continue to do in your life…today and everyday!

One thought on “The Exchange

Leave a Reply

