Puke and All

Romans 5:8-“But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

 A couple of years ago I was blessed to be in a relationship with a wonderful, godly man, through whom God brought healing to some wounded areas of my life.  One night, when he was visiting our family, I suddenly became ill.

 When he followed me into the bathroom, where I was puking my guts out, I demanded that he leave me alone and go home.  However, in spite of my protests, he continued to approach me, knelt down, gently pulled back my hair, and declared that he was there for me.  

 When I felt the least attractive (puke on the face does not rate real high on the desirability scale) and the most repulsive, he drew near and pulled me close.

 Isn’t that how God is? Instead of being repulsed; He receives.  Instead of waiting for us to “clean up our act”, He steps into the bathrooms of our lives when we are still covered in the depravity of our sin and says, “I am here.”   Then He reaches out and receives us into His arms.

 May you be reminded today that no matter where you are at or what you have done, God loves you and is there for you…puke and all!

One thought on “Puke and All

Leave a Reply

